Everyday Biscuits

Standard

I refuse to buy biscuits from the supermarket, (except for my tim tams that I have once in a blue moon – can’t make them!), as I prefer to know what actually goes in the mouths of my family.  As such, I’m learning to have a steady supply of everyday biscuit mix that I can change to suit the tastes and whims of the family.  This one is good for that and I’ve rolled them in 100’s and 1000’s, flaked chocolate, sprinkles, coconut.  I’ve pushed chocolate buttons, freckles, jam, nuts and the list goes on.  Here is the basic recipe that I found on taste.com.au

Thumbprint Cookies

Ingredients

  • 180g unsalted butter, softened
  • 220g (1 cup) caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 75g (1/2 cup) self-raising flour
  • 1 1/2 cups plain flour
  • Chocolate freckles, to decorate

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Line a baking tray with non-stick baking paper.
  2. Place the butter and sugar into the bowl of an electric mixer and beat until pale and creamy. Add the egg and beat well.
  3. Stir in the flours and mix to form a dough. Roll 2 tablespoons of dough into a ball and flatten onto the baking tray. Press your thumb into the centre of the dough to make a hole (do not go all the way through). Repeat with the remaining dough.
  4. Press a chocolate freckle into each hole and bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.
  5. Set aside on wire racks to cool.

Notes:

  • I don’t actually flatten or put a thumbprint in the biscuits unless I’m putting jam in them.  Instead I press the chocolate buttons or freckles in the biscuit, or I’ll roll the top of the biscuit in the sprinkles, chocolate shavings.
  • I also add Vanilla extract in at the creaming butter and sugar stage to give extra yummy taste!
2 responses »

  1. They look fab Cathy. I’m exactly the same as you. My desire to do the same originated from my dh’s severe allergies to certain chemicals found naturally in most foods. So I had to cook everything for him including bread. This led me down the path of reading the ingredient lists on everything and understanding what all the “product or ingredient” numbers actually mean and what they can do to you. So I make everything for my kids lunch boxes as well. Both my boys (I have one in grade 2 and the other in grade 9) constantly get asked to swap their lunch box treats with other kids as “your mum always makes you nice snacks”. It’s so worth it for their health I think. I must add your recipes to my cookbook if that’s ok. well done.

    • Thanks Donna…it’s a sad fact that we really need to be more aware that the wool is being pulled over our eyes by the big manufacturers. We really don’t know what is going in our mouths!

Leave a Reply

